The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan


You know the Greek myths? The Roman myths? The Gods, Hercules, etc. Well, what if they were all real? Percy Jackson discovers that all the strange things in his life can be traced back to those supposedly mythical beings. Not only that but his father is none other than Poseidon, one of the Big Three. There’s a problem though: The Big Three had agreed not to have any children due to a prophecy. Percy was born illegally! Meaning, the other Gods want him destroyed. When Zeus’s master lightning bolt is stolen, Zeus thinks that Poseidon is to blame. Percy, in an attempt to clear his father’s name and prevent a war (and find his mother) accepts a quest to the Underworld where he uncovers a much greater danger than imagined.

My friend recommended this book to me. He and I enjoy Terry Brooks books, which is actually how we became friends in the first place, so every so often we swap new books that we’re reading. This was one of his better recommendations.

Riordan does a lot of great things in this book. For one, each character is distinct and believable. You get a sense of who each one is and each one feels real and sympathetic. Riordan’s plot is well thought out with hints along the way that allow the alert reader to discover the truth while leaving a few surprises within. While he isn’t as clever as J.K.Rowling (there just isn’t the same depth and detail) this is a more than enjoyable read, worth the time. It’s also just come out as a movie and I generally find that the book is better.

I can’t wait to get the next book in the series.

UPDATE: I’ve now read the entire series. It keeps getting better from book one through to the end. I can’t wait for Riordan’s next book to come out in his newest series but I hope he comes back to Percy eventually.

Buy the series: Percy Jackson and the Olympians Paperback Boxed Set (Books 1-3), The Battle of the Labyrinth (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, Book 4), and The Last Olympian (Percy Jackson & the Olympians, Book 5)

One thought on “The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan

  1. It took me half a month to read your book.Let me just tell you something Rick…….It was outstanding.I’m 9 years old and i go to a Examplarary writing school.When i read this book i didnt know what to say. I was amazed in what i was reading. I had never heard anything in my entire life like it.I intend to see the movie Percy Jackson and The Olympians.You are the first author to inspire me and ill always remember that.You are a great author and dont you forget it.

    Best Wishes,
    Love Percy Jackson Fan
    P.S Tell Percy i said Hi.

Leave a Reply

