Magyk: Book 1 of the Septimus Heap Series by Angie Sage


I’d like to preface this by saying how much I’m thrilled about the rise in fantasy series. (Thank you JKR!) Growing up, the really popular kids’ series were Nancy Drew, the Hardy Boys, Baby Sitters’ Club, Sweet Valley Twins, etc. Finally, the fantasy stuff has become really big. Now on to the story…

One winter night, a family gives birth to their seventh son and names him Septimus Heap. That same night, the queen gives birth to an heir. But the queen is murdered and the baby is presumed dead. Septimus is carried out by the nursemaid who reports that he died. Silas finds a baby girl in the woods and their family takes her in, names her Jenna, and raises her as one of their own. Things seem to settle down for a time until the truth is revealed: Jenna is the Princess. And Septimus may not be gone for good.

The book is full of action and the wizarding world is fairly detailed. The characters are likable and entertaining. The writing is set for a slightly younger age group than Harry Potter, which for me, was a little tough. I like children’s books but it was a little too young for me and the magic was too simple and easy to pick up.

I don’t love the series but I’m curious enough to want to read the book and see how the series progresses. Book 1 has more the feel of setting up the rest of the series than of being like the rest of the books. I do recommend the book for young children but if you’re like me, and enjoy the YA stuff, this isn’t quite for you. (But I’ll let you know for sure after I try book 2.)

Read book one: Magyk (Septimus Heap, Book 1)

One thought on “Magyk: Book 1 of the Septimus Heap Series by Angie Sage

  1. I grew up with Animorphs and Goosebumps, so sci-fi and bad horror, it was a natural step for me to move to fantasy as I got older but I always wished there had been YA fantasy when I was younger. That said, I wish a the YA fantasy being released now was sometimes of a better standard. Thanks for sharing this with us.

Leave a Reply

