City of Ember by Jeanne DuPrau


It’s been a while since I’ve made a post, not because I haven’t read anything but because I usually post about a book series as one post rather than as separate posts for each book. But having read 3 of 4 books for the City of Ember series, I’ve decided to make an exception because each book is distinctly different, with a very different tone and feel.

What’s funny about the City of Ember is that about two weeks before I went and bought it, my dad came to me and said “there was just this movie on TV that I think you would like, but I can’t remember the name or really how to explain it to you.” Then when I started telling him about this book after I read it he was like “hey, that’s the movie I was telling you about!” So clearly, he was right.

Onto the book. City of Ember is about a self-contained city. Beyond its borders is nothing but darkness. The people know nothing but the city. The only problem is that the lights have been starting to flicker and die, the pipes are bursting, supplies are running out. But what can they do when there’s nowhere else. Except that maybe there is somewhere else. When Lina discovers a note that contains instructions for how to leave, she and her friend Doon want to tell the city. There’s just one problem: the mayor is corrupt and doesn’t want the people to have more than him. There are many mysteries to resolve though, like how the people ended up in Ember in the first place, what the rest of the world holds, and can they get out before it is too late?

Jeanne DuPrau creates a fully realized reality. It feels very real. You can feel the terror of the citizens whenever the lights blackout. Of the three books I’ve read so far, this one is the best. It has the most tension and drama, there’s more going on. The last bit is a little over the top (in a “life is beautiful!” sort of way), but otherwise it’s exciting and realistic.

Buy the book here: The City of Ember (Books of Ember)

Leave a Reply

