100 Cupboards: Dandelion Fire by ND Wilson


Dandelion Fire takes place shortly after book one ended. Henry’s parents have been found and intend to reclaim him in two weeks. He wants to discover his true ancestry before then but his plans are ruined when he suddenly goes blind and then is pulled through the cupboards involuntarily. Henrietta thinks Henry has gone without her and attempts to follow by going to FitzFaeren where she guesses he will be. Meanwhile, back in Kansas, the house is suddenly ripped away, with Henry’s cousins, Zeke, and a policeman and winds up in an abandoned field. This is only part of the mysteries and questions that arise in the series.

Book Two of this series did not start off the way I expected. You know how in Harry Potter, Harry got really moody and whiny near the end of the series? Well, at that point, we cared a lot of Harry and could get past his complaining (plus, if you read the books when you’re in a bad mood, you totally feel for him, otherwise you side with his friends and want him to quit it). In this book, Henry becomes a whiner very early on, before I’m sure I’m invested enough in his journey to really care. There was a while that I wanted nothing more than to simply shut the book or force my way through it just to get to the end. Certainly not a good way to feel about a book. Some of the fight scenes were hard to follow, which was an added annoyance.

Halfway through the book I was entirely certain that I would not read the third book. But then it got better. Henry got over his childish obnoxiousness, which was a big help. By the time I finished I had a change of heart. Or at least, I found myself open to book three though I do not intend to read it until I am done with some other series that I have begun (such as Leven Thumps and the Candy Shop War for starters).

I’m disappointed that book two didn’t hold my attention the way the first one did (surprising considering how many mysteries they had), but it does manage to tie up loose ends well enough that I don’t feel like I’ll be missing out if I don’t continue reading. At the same time, I find myself drawn to book three whenever I pass it in the book store so odds are I will give it a chance.

Leave a Reply

