The 39 Clues: Maze of Bones by Rick Riordan


One of the interesting things about this series is the fact that each book is written by a different author, Nancy Drew and Hardy Boys Style though without the pseudonyms. I haven’t read more than the first book yet so I can’t comment on whether I like this or not but it’s strange because where Nancy Drew and the Hardy Boys don’t have a story arch, the 39 Clues does so I wonder how well it will hold up as far as consistency goes.

The 39 Clues is about Amy and Dan Cahills, two siblings whose parents died when they were young. They are wards of their Aunt Beatrice who finds every way possible to stay away from them and have weekend visits with their grandmother, Grace. When Grace dies she sets in motion a great hunt for the Cahill family. See, the Cahill family is secretly the most powerful in history and whoever wins the hunt (which requires finding and following 39 clues) will gain a secret that will make them extremely powerful. Should they decide not to take the challenge, they get a million dollars. Amy and Dan (along with a few other cousins) accept the challenge though they believe they have little hope of succeeding. They have no money and are just kids. And the others want to keep them from winning at all costs.

I love Rick Riordan, so I didn’t doubt that I would enjoy this book. It may not be much like Percy Jackson regarding mythology, but it certainly pulls history into the present. I don’t know how I will feel about the other books, written by other authors, but I’m excited to see how author number two keeps up.

Final component to the book: clues that you can try to follow yourself online. I haven’t check it out yet but I’m curious.

Leave a Reply

