Savvy by Ingrid Law


Mibs is about to turn thirteen, the age that she (like her older brothers before her) will discover what her savvy–magical talent–is. It’s a special but also potentially dangerous day because a savvy can take years to learn to control. Mibs and her family usually start being home-schooled then so as not to put anyone in danger. But things don’t go as planned for Mibs birthday. Her father gets into a serious car accident in the city and while her mother and older brother go to sit with him, the rest of the kids are home with their grandfather (who isn’t the most able person). Mibs decides she has to get to her father and she, two of her brothers, and two kids from the neighborhood stow away in a  delivery man’s bus that they think is headed the right way.

When I first started reading this book I didn’t really like it. It had that super southern twang thing that got on my nerves the same as The Girl Who Could Fly had). But then, as I got further in I was impressed by how in touch with kids’ feelings Law was able to get. The sad moments were particularly poignant and well written out. I found myself engrossed in the book and really enjoying it. I think once it got out of the “here’s the history of my family” to the actually story, it really hit its stride.

I’m excited to see where book two takes the series. I think it has the potential to be even stronger (since we’re no longer in the introduction phase of what savvies are and how they work). Can’t wait to find out if her younger brother has in fact developed his savvy early.

Leave a Reply

